Log in

Log in

The Masters Review Anthology Seeks Submissions

24 Feb 2023 4:26 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Every year The Masters Review opens submissions to produce their anthology, a collection of ten stories and essays written by the best emerging authors. Their aim is to showcase ten writers who they believe will continue to produce great work. The ten winners are nationally distributed in a printed book with their stories and essays exposed to top agents, editors, and authors across the country. Their third volume was awarded the Silver Medal for Best Short Story Collection through the INDIEFAB Awards in 2015, and their fourth volume was an honorable mention for best anthology. Check them out on Amazon!


● Previously unpublished works of fiction and narrative nonfiction only

● Up to 7000 words

● They accept simultaneous submissions as long as work is withdrawn if it is accepted elsewhere.

● Multiple submissions are allowed

● International English submissions allowed

● Emerging Writers Only. Writers must not have published a novel-length work at the time of submission (authors of short story collections and self-published titles can submit as can authors with novels or memoirs with a low distribution [no more than 5000 copies]).

● Standard formatting please (double-spaced, 12 pt font, pages numbered)

● $20 entry fee

● Deadline: April 2nd, 2023

● Please, no identifying information on their story

● All submissions are considered for publication in the anthology as well as New Voices.

● If requesting an editorial letter, please indicate on the cover letter if the submissions is fiction or creative nonfiction.

● A significant portion of the editorial letter fees go to their feedback editor, according to the rates established by the EFA.

● All submissions will receive a response by the end of June.

● Winners will be announced by the end of July.

● To view a list of their most commonly asked questions regarding submitting to The Masters Review, please see their FAQ page.

● Friends, family and associates of the final judge are not eligible for this award.

● Writers who have earned an Anthology Prize before and whose work appears in their printed book cannot submit to this category but are welcome to send us work in other open categories

GUEST JUDGE: Each year The Masters Review pairs with a guest judge to select stories. Their editorial team produces a shortlist of stories, which the judge reviews to select winners. Their past judges include Lauren Groff, AM Homes, Lev Grossman, Kevin Brockmeier, Amy Hempel, Roxane Gay, Rebecca Makkai, Kate Bernheimer, Rick Bass, Diane Cook, and Peter Ho Davies. This year’s judge is Toni Jensen!

Toni Jensen is the author of Carry: A Memoir of Survival on Stolen Land, a finalist for the Dayton Peace Prize and a New York Times Editors’ Choice book (Ballantine 2020). An NEA Creative Writing Fellowship recipient in 2020, Jensen’s essays have appeared in Orion, Catapult and Ecotone, among others. She is also the author of the story collection From the Hilltop. She teaches at the University of Arkansas and the Institute of American Indian Arts.



Copyright 2021 San Diego Writers and Editors Guild

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software